Kurvits named CCAA Male Badminton Player of the Year

Kurvits named CCAA Male Badminton Player of the Year

Owen Kurvits of the Redeemer Royals has been named the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association Male Badminton Player of the Year.

He received the award this evening at the 2017 CCAA Badminton National Championships banquet, hosted by Seneca College in Toronto, ON.

“Owen has consistently been among the CCAA elite men’s badminton players over the past few seasons and is very deserving of this award,” said Jordan Richey, CCAA Badminton Convenor.

In his final varsity badminton season with the Royals, the three-time CCAA All-Canadian posted a 26-1 record in men’s singles play before capturing the OCAA Championship crown. Kurvits was victorious at the OCAA West Regional, Humber Invitational, Redeemer Royal Cup and Fanshawe Invitational. He placed second at the St. Clair Open.

“He has the unique ability to raise his game when called upon and plays his best badminton in crucial situations,” said Richey.

After receiving the Arlene Harle Fair Play Award at the 2014 CCAA Badminton National Championships, Kurvits continued to be the model of respect and fair play during his final varsity badminton season at Redeemer University College.

Kurvits has earned the respect from his competitors for his impeccable character and discipline in his approach to each game as well as his off the court attitude and behaviour.

He also gives back to the sport of badminton while still in his competitive prime. Kurvits assists with coaching at Redeemer and at Advance Badminton, located at Cedar Springs Health Racket and Sports Club in Burlington, ON. 

At Advance Badminton, where he also trains with elite players regularly, Kurvits coaches at group training sessions for juniors and also gives private lessons to juniors.

Kurvits was also nominated for the CCAA Male Badminton Player of the Year award in 2016.

CCAA Player of the Year winners receive a customized ring provided by Jostens Canada, the Official Ring Supplier of the CCAA Championship Awards Banquet.

Other nominees for the Player of the Year award were Imran Wadia of the NAIT Ooks (ACAC) and Jaryd Morrissey of the Mount Allison Mounties (ACAA).

For a full list of this year’s award recipients, visit the official site of the 2017 CCAA Badminton National Championships.