Rosenlund named CCAA Player of the Year

Rosenlund named CCAA Player of the Year

Megan Rosenlund of the VIU Mariners has been named the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association Women’s Volleyball Player of the Year.

Rosenlund received the award at the 2017 CCAA Women’s Volleyball National Championship banquet, hosted by Camosun College in Victoria, BC.

“She is a very skilled player who does it all for the Mariners,” said Fred Batley, CCAA Women’s Volleyball Convenor. “She leads by example both on and off the court.”

In her fifth and final season, the VIU captain led the Mariners to a first-place finish in the PACWEST with a 19-5 record. The Mariners will look to defend their CCAA National Championship title this week in Victoria, BC.

“Megan is a team leader who motivates her teammates with her great work ethic and positive attitude,” said Batley.

This season, Rosenlund led the PACWEST with 277 kills and was fourth in total offence with 3.9 points per set.

Whether it’s attacking, serving, passing or defending, Rosenlund leads the powerhouse Mariners in all aspects.

After starting her post-secondary career as a libero, Rosenlund transitioned to the power position in her third season with the Mariners. And although she is looked upon to lead the potent VIU offence, she has never forgotten where her roots come from and continues to be strong defensively.

Rosenlund has an upbeat outlook and truly can’t be outworked on the court but she also excels off the court, which makes her a great ambassador for the VIU Women’s Volleyball team.

She takes time out of her busy schedule to coach the U18 and U16 club teams in the area. Rosenlund is constantly giving back to the youth volleyball players in Nanaimo and her home town of Coquitlam, BC.

Rosenlund also assists with charities in the community, including shaving her head in her second year to help raise money for cancer research.   

CCAA Player of the Year winners receive a customized ring provided by Jostens Canada, the Official Ring Supplier of the CCAA Championship Awards Banquet.

Other nominees for the Player of the Year award were Samantha Zacharias of the Briercrest Clippers (ACAC), Allison Marshall of the Durham Lords (OCAA), Noémie Gagné of the Élans de Garneau (RSEQ) and Christina Day of the MSVU Mystics (ACAA).

For a full list of this year’s award recipients, visit the official site of the 2017 CCAA Women’s Volleyball National Championship.