Draw for CCAA Basketball Nationals

Draw for CCAA Basketball Nationals

For the second consecutive season, the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) will use a two-group bracket system to identify quarter-final matchups for the Men’s and Women’s Basketball National Championships.

The draw divides qualifying teams into two brackets using standardized designation and the current wildcard ranking chart, which is based on placings at the previous three CCAA National Championships.

Following conference championships, the CCAA Convenor and Seeding Committee, which comprises of provincial convenors from the Pacific Western Athletic Association (PACWEST), Alberta Colleges Athletic Association (ACAC), Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA), Réseau du sport étudiant du Québec (RSEQ) and Atlantic Collegiate Athletic Association (ACAA) will seed teams in each bracket.

The first seed will face the fourth seed, while the second seed will take on the third seed in each group. As per CCAA policy, the host team can choose the timeslot for its first game.

As previously announced, the OCAA and RSEQ have earned wildcard berths to the 2018 CCAA Men’s Basketball National Championship, which will be hosted by Langara College in Langley, BC, from March 13-16.

Meanwhile, the OCAA and ACAC will send wildcard teams to the 2018 CCAA Women’s Basketball National Championship, to be hosted by Cégep de Sainte-Foy in Sainte-Foy, QC, from March 13-16.

Here is a look at the 2019 draws:

2019 CCAA Men’s Basketball National Championship

QF MATCHES 1 & 2: PACWEST Champion, OCAA Wildcard, RSEQ Champion, ACAC Champion  
QF MATCHES 3 & 4: PACWEST Host, OCAA Champion, RSEQ Wildcard, ACAA Champion

2019 CCAA Women’s Basketball National Championship

QF MATCHES 1 & 2: RSEQ Champion, OCAA Wildcard, ACAC Champion, PACWEST Champion
QF MATCHES 3 & 4: RSEQ Host, OCAA Champion, ACAC Wildcard, ACAA Champion