Royals to face Cavaliers for CCAA Bronze

Royals to face Cavaliers for CCAA Bronze

MATCH 10: Ch. Saint-Lambert Cavaliers 3, Red Deer Kings 0

The Champlain Saint-Lambert Cavaliers booked their place in the bronze medal game after a convincing 3-0 win over the Red Deer Kings.

The Cavaliers took the lead in the 28th minute when 2019 CCAA Player of the Year Jared Leheta notched his first goal of the tournament, tapping the ball home after a scramble in front of the Red Deer net. Leheta nearly got his second goal of the game in the 36th minute when he almost converted what could have been the goal of the season, but his bicycle kick went just inches wide of the bottom right corner.

Champlain started the second half off with a bang, scoring two goals in quick succession courtesy of Zakaria Bahous and Jeremy Tremblay.

Leheta picked up the 4imprint Player of the Game for Champlain, while Cale Jacobs received the award for Red Deer.

MATCH 9: Douglas Royals 2*, Humber Hawks 1

The Douglas Royals are heading to the bronze medal game after a penalty shootout win against the 2018 CCAA Men’s Soccer National Champion Humber Hawks.

Douglas got off to a strong start but their efforts were turned away by Humber goalkeeper Nick Frenati. The Royals eventually broke through when Burhan Waisy rose up to head home a cross and make it 1-0.

Humber got the equalizer with just three minutes left in the half when an unmarked Aziah Reid put a left-foot strike into the bottom right corner.

Humber almost pulled ahead with 10 minutes to go when All-Canadian Leaford Allen came off the bench and hit the post. Last year’s champions pushed hard for a winner but the game went to penalties – Humber’s third shootout of the tournament.

With both teams staring victory in the eyes, Douglas goalkeeper Felipe Domingos emerged as the hero making two huge saves in the shootout to lift his side into the bronze medal game.

Domingos was named the 4imprint Player of the Game for the Royals, while Michael Fayehun was recognized for the Hawks.


*Note: Match decided by PKs