Queens, Falcons capture CCAA crowns

Queens, Falcons capture CCAA crowns

The battle to win the 2017 CCAA Curling National Championship wrapped up Saturday afternoon with the Red Deer Queens taking the Women's gold medal and the Fanshawe Falcons securing the gold medal in the Men's competition. In the Women's final, the Red Deer Queens were successful on their last rock take out to get past the Concordia Thunder by a score of 7 to 6 while the Men's final saw Fanshawe run their opponents out of rocks in the 10th to defeat the Mohawk Mountaineers by a score of 7 to 4.

The Bronze medal game for the Women went to the Fanshawe Falcons in a close game over the NAIT Ooks 8 - 7 and the Bronze medal game for the Men ended on the 9th with the Red Deer Kings sweeping over the Humber Hawks 10 - 3.

Women's Draw:

The semi-finals earlier in the day saw the 1st place Fanshawe Falcons take on 4th place Red Deer Queens while 2nd place Concordia Thunder played 3rd place NAIT Ooks. Both games came down to last rock take outs where Fanshawe ended up rolling too far for the point to tie giving Red Deer the 7 - 5 win. Concordia succeeded in sticking their last rock takeout for the 8 - 7 victory and a spot in the final.


Men's Draw:

The Men's semi-finals had 1st place Red Deer Kings clashing with 4th place Mohawk Mountaineers and 2nd place Fanshawe Falcons facing 3rd place Humber Hawks. Both men's games ended up lopsided finishing after 8 ends. Fanshawe Falcons stomped on the Humber Hawks early, leading 10 - 2 after the 5th and continued their momentum to end it 13 - 5. In the other semi-final, Red Deer Kings had trouble keeping pace after the half allowing the Mohawk Mountaineers to steal a triple in 7 and a deuce in 8 to send the Mountaineers onto the gold medal game.

Final Standings:


Gold – Red Deer Queens
Silver – Concordia Thunder
Bronze – Fanshawe Falcons


Gold – Fanshawe Falcons
Silver – Mohawk Mountaineers
Bronze – Red Deer Kings

Fair Play Awards:

Women Fanshawe Falcons
Men – Olds Broncos

CCAA All Stars:


Lead – Isabelle Allan, Fanshawe Falcons
Second – Brett Day, Red Deer Queens
Third – Adrienne Maschmeyer, Concordia Thunder
Skip – Sara Westman, Fanshawe Falcons


Lead – Tyler Osborne, Humber Hawks
Second – Brady St. Louis, Fanshawe Falcons
Third – Tyler Twining, Fanshawe Falcons
Skip – Ryan Dahmer, Red Deer Kings

Coach of the Year:

Women - Brad Hamilton, Red Deer Queens
Men - DJ Ronaldson, Fanshawe Falcons

Host Augustana University would like to thank all the fans who came out to support collegiate curling along with the sponsors and community supporters whose commitment helped to make this event a success - Rose City Curling Club, City of Camrose, University of Alberta Campus, World Financial Group, Meridian Manufacturing, Goldline, Fountain Tire, M & M Meats, Northern Alberta Curling Association, Subway, and CJ's Sign Shop.